Firehouse Primary set for June 1

The Patrick County Republican Committee will conduct a Firehouse Primary for the Mayo River District of the Patrick County Board of Supervisors

The primary will be held on June 1, from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the Patrick Henry Volunteer Fire Department, which is located at 3125 County Line Road in Patrick Springs.

The purpose of the primary is to nominate a Republican candidate for the Mayo River district seat.

Three candidates filed to compete in the primary, including Vance Agee, Michael Gravely, and Clayton Kendrick.

Agee announced Thursday he will withdraw, leaving only Gravely and Kendrick in the contest.

The winner will go on to compete in the Nov. 5 General Election.

All registered voters of the Mayo River District are eligible to vote in the primary if they agree to support the winner of the primary and they have not participated in another party’s primary within the last five years.

Participants do not have to be a registered Republican to vote.

Bring photo identification when casting a vote. Absentee voting will not be allowed.

For more information, call Wren Williams at (276) 694-2455 or email


more recommended stories