GOP primary to be held June 23

Polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Tuesday, June 23, for voters participating in the Republican Primary Election.

A sample ballot is printed in this newspaper showing the names of the candidates.

Remember that Virginia residents do not register by party. Because of that, and the fact that the Republican party is the only party holding a primary in Patrick County, any registered Virginia voter can vote in the primary.

Voters also are reminded to bring an acceptable form of photo identification with them to the polls. Virginia law requires that all voters present an acceptable form of photo identification when voting. A free voter photo identification card is available to any registered voter who does not already possess a valid form of identification and can be obtained by visiting any Registrar’s Office.

A registered voter needing to vote by absentee ballot may do so in person in the Registrar’s Office.  The final day for in person absentee voting is Saturday, June 20, 2020 at 5 p.m. For additional information contact the Registrar’s Office at 276-694-7206.


Patrick County polling places and their locations are:

Dan River District:

Ararat – Ararat Ruritan Bldg., 4711 Ararat Hwy.

Claudville – Claudville Community Bldg., 1828 Red Bank School Road

Willis Gap – Willis Gap Community Center, 144 The Hollow Road


Peters Creek District:

Dry Pond – Peters Creek Community Bldg., 2130 Dry Pond Hwy.

Patrick Springs – Patrick Springs Fire Station, 181 Spring Road

Russell Creek – Russell Creek Community Bldg., 1808 Ayers Orchard Road


Mayo River District:

Critz/Stella – Hardin Reynolds Elementary School, 3597 Dogwood Road

Liberty – Patrick Henry Volunteer Fire Department, 3125 County Line Road


Blue Ridge District:

Meadows of Dan – Meadows of Dan Community Bldg., 2858 Jeb Stuart Hwy.

Stuart Fairgrounds – Hooker Building, Rotary Field, 420 Woodland Drive


Smith River District:

Stuart Community – Stuart Community Center (Patrick Henry Community College, Patrick Site) 212 Wood Brothers Drive

Elamsville – Fairystone Fire Station, 6687 Fairystone Park Hwy.

Woolwine – Smith River Rescue Squad Bldg., 9962 Woolwine Hwy.




more recommended stories