Nominating process set

Democrats in the Ninth House of Delegates District will open the process on April 1 to nominate a candidate to run in the Nov. 5 General Election to a two-year term in the Virginia legislature’s lower house. The candidate filing period will last until May 15, 2019.

Prospective candidates should obtain a Declaration of Candidacy Form, which is then filed with the chairman of the Nominating Committee, together with a filing fee of $500. The Nominating Committee is looking for candidates who support the principles of the Democratic Party of Virginia and who will be able to run a competitive race.

Prospective candidates must sign a written declaration that the candidate is a Democrat and not a member of any other political party; meets all requirements of state law to be placed on the ballot; is eligible to be a member of the House of Delegates for the Ninth District under Virginia laws; does not intend to support or endorse any candidate who is opposed to the Democratic nominee in this General Election; will not participate in the nominating process of any other party; and agrees to abide by the Caucus Rules, the Virginia Democratic Party Plan, and all laws applicable to this nominating process and the General Election.

Anyone who is interested may contact the chairman of the Nominating Committee/Franklin County Democratic Committee, Denise Hurst at; the chairman of the Martinsville-Henry County Democratic Committee, James Hyler at; or the chairman of the Patrick County Democratic Committee, Janet Demiray at for copies of the Declaration of Candidacy Form and other relevant information.

The form must be officially filed with Hurst in Rocky Mount.

Democratic voters who live in the Ninth House of Delegates District are invited to participate in the Nominating Caucus on Saturday, June 8, beginning at 2 p.m. in the Franklin County Democratic Committee office, 527 South Main Street, Rocky Mount.

The Ninth House of Delegates District encompasses all of Patrick County, most of Franklin County and six precincts in Henry County.

Incumbent Del. Charles Poindexter, R-Franklin County, announced he will seek reelection.


more recommended stories