PHCC names distinguished alumni


Teddy Anderson
Perry Hughes

The Patrick Henry Community College (PHCC) Foundation will honor 12 PHCC graduates as distinguished alumni on April 21. The Distinguished Alumni Awards, which will be presented at Chatmoss Country Club, recognize PHCC graduates for professional and community achievements and success.

This year’s award recipients are: Kelly Adkins, Teddy Anderson, Lori Handy, Jennifer Hollyfield, Ann Huffman, Perry Hughes, Susan Martin, Scott Prillaman, Sammie Seaton, Jan Turner, Shirley Dalton Wells, Roberta Wright.

Those with local ties are:

Anderson is the fire chief for the City of Martinsville Fire Department. He also serves as an adjunct instructor at PHCC and an instructor with Patrick County Emergency Services, Franklin and Henry County Public Safety, and Piedmont Regional Criminal Justice Training Academy.

Hughes, of Stuart, is the director of Workforce Development at Wytheville Community College in Wytheville. He is also the chairman of the Workforce Development Services Advisory Council Credential Policy and Tracking Committee and a strong supporter of youth activities and athletics in Patrick County. He is an active member of Middle Cross Missionary Baptist Church.

Wells is the director of Early Childhood Education at STEP, Inc. in Franklin and Patrick counties. She is an active member of Mount Sinai Holiness Church in Axton as a Sunday school teacher, vacation bible school director and teacher and the church finance member and bookkeeper.

Individual tickets for the dinner and award ceremony are $35, patron tables for eight are $250, and benefactor tables for eight are $500. Tickets for PHCC students are $30. Proceeds will benefit the students and programs of PHCC.

Tickets may be purchased through the PHCC Foundation Office by contacting Letitia Pulliam at (276) 656-0250 or


more recommended stories