Winners of demolition derby announced

Dents, spinning dirt, loud crashing, and smoke were among the sights and sounds at the spring derby on Saturday, May 18.


Paw Patrol on a roll, derby style.

The spring demolition derby was held at Rotary in Stuart on Saturday, May 18.

The event started with racers, aged three to five. Participating youngsters drove power wheel cars and trucks.

Hundreds filled the stands to watch as the adult derby got underway.

In the feature, Tommy Dehart of Stuart, came in first place; Braeden Morrison of Woolwine, came in second place; and Buddy Moricle of Woolwine, won third place.

In the 6 cylinder competition: Matt Studley of Madison, N.C., was first; Joey Scott of Stuart, was second; and Allan Mabe of Stuart, was third.

The compact heat contest was won by George Belcher of Stuart, in first place; Tyler Brockney, of Stuart, in second; and Michael Hylton of Fieldale, in third.

Heat one winners were Cole Dehart and Daniel Leviner, both of Stuart and Braeden Morrison of Woolwine.

Heat two winners were Buddy Moricle of Stuart, Jamie Stokes of Patrick Springs and Tommy Dehart of Stuart.

Consolation Heat winners were Alan Hamm and J.W. Belcher, both of Stuart.


more recommended stories