Dual primaries slated for June 12

Voters will head to the polls on Tuesday, June 12, to cast a ballot in the dual primary race.

All polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m., and since this is a dual primary, officers of the election must determine in which primary election the voter wishes to vote in.

Voters will be asked if they wish to vote in the Democratic Party Primary or the Republican Party Primary.

All those who are qualified to vote may cast a ballot in either primary, but cannot vote in both primaries.

The choice to vote in a particular party’s primary does not mean a voter will be registered with that party. Virginia does not register by party.

Two democratic candidates, Anthony J. Flaccavento and Justin D. Santopietro, are vying for the opportunity to challenge GOP incumbent Ninth District U.S. House of Rep. Morgan Griffith in the November race.

Corey A. Stewart, Nick J. Freitas and E.W. Jackson hope to snare the GOP nomination and challenge incumbent U.S. Sen. Tim Kaine, a democrat, in the November contest.

Sample ballots are printed inside.

Voters are reminded to bring an acceptable form of photo identification with them when going to the polls on Tuesday. Virginia law requires an acceptable for of photo identification to be presented when casting a ballot.

A free photo identification card is available to any registered voter who does not possess a valid form of photo identification. It can be obtained by visiting any registrar’s office.

Registered voters who need to vote by absentee ballot may do so in person in the registrar’s office. The final day for in-person absentee voting is Saturday, June 9 at 5 p.m.

For additional information, contact the registrar’s office at (276) 694-7206.

Additionally, those who formerly voted in the Stuart Administration Precinct are reminded they now will cast a ballot at the new precinct, Stuart Fairgrounds, which is located in the Hooker Building at Rotary Field, 420, Woodland Drive, Stuart.

Following is a complete list of polling places and locations for Patrick County voters:

Dan River District:

Ararat – Ararat Ruritan Bldg., 4711 Ararat Hwy.

Claudville – Claudville Community Bldg., 1828 Red Bank School Road

Willis Gap – Willis Gap Community Center, 144 The Hollow Road

Peters Creek District:

Dry Pond – Peters Creek Community Bldg., 2130 Dry Pond Hwy.

Patrick Springs – Patrick Springs Fire Station, 181 Spring Road

Russell Creek – Russell Creek Community Bldg., 1808 Ayers Orchard Road

Mayo River District:

Critz/Stella – Hardin Reynolds Elementary School, 3597 Dogwood Road

Liberty – Patrick Henry Volunteer Fire Department, 3125 County Line Road

Blue Ridge District:

Meadows of Dan – Meadows of Dan Community Bldg., 2858 Jeb Stuart Hwy.

Stuart Fairgrounds – Hooker Building, Rotary Field, 420 Woodland Drive

Smith River District:

Stuart Community – Stuart Community Center (Patrick Henry Community College, Patrick Site) 212 Wood Brothers Drive

Elamsville – Fairystone Fire Station, 6687 Fairystone Park Hwy.

Woolwine – Smith River Rescue Squad Bldg., 9962 Woolwine Hwy.


more recommended stories