Jackson named interim director of NCI

Karen R. Jackson, Virginia’s former Secretary of Technology, was appointed the interim executive director of the New College Institute. Jackson will fill the post vacated by Executive Director Dr. Leanna Blevins, who resigned from the position last month. 

Secretary Jackson previously served during the administrations of both Gov. Terry McAullife and Gov. Bob McDonnell, and has been the leader in the Virginia advancement of Internet Technology, Cyber, broadband access in rural and underserved areas, and was an integral part of Virginia’s effort to land Amazon’s HQ2. 

Jackson, a native of Poquoson, is the president of Apoge Strategic Partners, LLC, a company focused on providing technology consulting and advisory services to companies, universities, governmental entities, and non-profits specializing in technology and business strategy, government relations, public policy, business development, and program management.

The New College Institute Board of Directors unanimously voted to appoint Jackson.

State Sen. Bill Stanley, who serves as its chairman, said “I have had the honor and privilege of both knowing and working with Karen since I was first elected to the State Senate in 2011.  Her knowledge of and experience in internet technology, cyber, advanced manufacturing and the critical need for Virginia to have a 21st century educated workforce is unparalleled; and quite frankly, she has no peer. As Secretary, she led the way in assisting the state legislature in developing new strategies for technology advancements, and focused like a laser beam on the need to create an advanced educational structure for Virginia to meet the requirements of employers in the advanced technology and manufacturing fields to provide a job-ready workforce. 

“Karen Jackson is exactly what NCI needs to take its educational and credentialed training programs to the next level, and in turn, to create a workforce pipeline that will attract companies that will locate in our area,” said Stanley, R-Franklin County.


more recommended stories