PC Dixie Youth Major All-stars win district championship

By Stephen Henderson

Patrick County Dixie Youth Major League All-Stars—“The Ozone”—District 3 Champions: (from left to right): Coach Sonny Swails, Michael Nelson, Coach Tal Swails, Martin Sawyers, Ben Hiatt, Tristan Underwood, Jai Penn, Tucker Swails, Rylan Trent, Ty Stowe, Troy Cox, Braedon Augustine, Mark Trent, Toby Perkins and Hunter Strole.

The route to the championship of the District 3 Dixie Youth Major League Tournament was a six-day event for the Patrick County DY All-Stars. It began last Saturday and concluded last Thursday night when Patrick County defeated Radford 5-4 in seven innings.

“The Ozone” from Patrick County defeated Giles West last Saturday morning and won Sunday’s game against Montgomery County. Monday, the Ozone played Radford and defeated them. Patrick County continued play in the winner’s bracket Tuesday; however, Giles East defeated PC, all but eliminating them from tournament play until Giles East played Radford in the finals and lost.

he loss opened the door for Patrick County to redeem themselves by playing the sixth game against Radford where the Ozone defeated the Radford team 6-5, giving them the District 3 championship.

The State Dixie Youth Major League Tournament action will start Friday, July 14, in Brookneal.


more recommended stories